Office of the Vicar General

The vicar general is a priest who has been appointed by the bishop to assist him in the governance of the faithful within his diocese.  By reason of his office, the vicar general is granted ordinary administrative power and jurisdiction which he exercises vicariously in the name of the diocesan bishop whom he serves.  Historically this office date back to the 4th century, and the 1983 Code of Canon Law established it as a mandatory office in the organizational structure of a diocese.  The vicar general maintains frequent communication with the bishop so that he may always act in harmony with the intention and mind of the Successor of the Apostles.  [canons 475-481]

Meet our Current Vicar General

Fr. Michel Mulloy is a native of Mobridge, South Dakota. He was ordained a priest in 1979 for the Sioux Falls Diocese but soon after was sent to Rapid City for one year, to assist at the Cathedral. He later joined the Rapid City Diocese. Father Mulloy was an associate for four years before becoming a pastor in Faith, South Dakota and its missions. Since then he has served as pastor of St. Francis in Sturgis and Blessed Sacrament in Rapid City. Father Michel’s longest pastorate was 12 years at the Cathedral. In 2016 he accepted an assignment to McLaughlin, Kenel and Bullhead. In May of 2017 he was appointed full time Vicar General of the Diocese and relocated to Rapid City to be closer the chancery. In addition to his parish work, through the yearsFather Mulloy has been a Consultor, Presbyterial Council member, the Office of Worship Director, Vocation Director, a member of the Contingency Board and served on several other committees.


BA in Classical Humanities from St. Mary University, Winona.

As part of the Office of Vicar General, Fr. Mulloy oversees the Office of the Permanent Diaconate and Lay Ministry. Click here for more about the Permanent Diaconate program.

Office of the Permanent Diaconate
Director: Deacon Greg Sass

Diaconate Formation
Director: Fr. Brian Christensen
Associate Director: Deacon Greg Sass

Lay Ministry Formation
Coordinator: Deacon Greg Sass